day 5

d19902528d21bcf06fa43ccfc4e89cf1It seems as though every day gets a little easier. I think today, it became no longer about the food but about the fast. Yes, I still had food on the brain because honestly—when don’t i? But I find myself not worrying about the clock or about the fact that I had to wait to eat, all I was considered about was making the most out of my day.

Today I had the opportunity to serve not once, but twice. In the morning I went to a high school in Baltimore City and got the opportunity to meet some ninth grade students and do some college readiness activities with them. I won’t lie, the job of working with this population can be a headache and a half but the experience filled my spirit. We haven’t even begun to crack the surface yet but I know that with consistency and the care we show the students, some of them can realize their potential and reach for it.

My second opportunity was going to homeless shelter for women and children that I volunteer at biweekly. Today was a carefree day and what I appreciated most was truly getting to know some of the children by names and personality and even being able to give them lessons and advice. It may have been nothing to them but it was such a great feeling to be around them (even though they know how to tire a girl out!) Silly as it sounds, I randomly taught some of the children what  omnivore/carnivore/herbivores were and why sometime’s it is better to mind your own business in order to stay out of trouble. I’m not sure if m messages were received the way I wanted but the chance that God even allowed me to be there to do so is something to bow down and give Him thanks for.

When it came to reading my verses for the day I tried so hard but fatigue consumed me once again and I fell asleep in the middle of my reading and analysis (i hate when i do that!). BUT i did get through one important verse:

“Nevertheless…the Lord your God turned the curse into a blessing for you, because the Lord your God loves you.” Deuteronomy 23:5

This reminded me of the incomprehensible love that God has for us. Despite of our shortcomings and our faults and the way we turn away from Him, God is always there to welcome us back with open arms if we are willing to except all of Him . And I thought to myself, God has done ALL of this for us and all that He asks is for us to devote more of us to Him and we cannot even do that. It makes me sad for the state of our hearts that we are so concerned with self that God doesn’t even get put in the back burner but in the empty corner of the attic.

Though i got a lot out of just this one verse, I wish I would have read more of God’s word and been more focused and attuned to it.

Tomorrow I pray for the ability to focus and take in more of God’s word. I pray to keep my priorities aligned with God’s will for my life and that I may no longer feel as though I fall short or as if there is something else I need in life in order to feel whole. He should be all I need.

Leave a Reply

