new year, who’s me?

img2455122So, before I start the influx of swirling shenanigans in my head, I figured I would let the suckers who chose to read this in a little bit about who I am– but just a little.

My name is Elssa; yes, with two “s’s” –no not like the Disney Princess–yes I’ve watched Frozen–no I do not want to build a snowman. I am a 19 year old college junior. Yeah, I’m young for my school age group, I’ve always been the youngest person in the room–but that’s a story/explanation for another day.

I am Cameroonian-American, who moved to America  with my mom and brother to meet my dad when I was four years old. I will save you all the long diatribe by simply saying that throughout my life …I’ve been through some thannngsss. I do not remember much about my early childhood, the things I do remember occur in glimpses like fading memories I have to quickly grasp before they disappear for good. Over time the things I used to remember so vividly start to blur at the seams. Many of my past experiences seemed like the worst possible things at the time but I know I wouldn’t be me without them– and I am pretty dang proud of the person I am today.

I am a child of 5 the second born but I am basically a mother to everyone in the house including my older brother, mom, dad and grandma lol.

I’m a psychology major with a minor in Business Administration. I big and one might say unrealistic dreams to work with disadvantaged youth in low economic areas and give them the emotional/counseling support as well as tangible resources they need to succeed. I’ve had this dream since I was young and I don’t know how, but I KNOW God is going to use me to do something great in this world. I used to tell myself in high school, if I would just improve the life of one individual in some way that will be enough for me and the craziest part is that I feel the same way now. It doesn’t matter how big my impact but as long as I fulfill God’s will, I am content.

Some of the most important things to me:

  1. GOD, Jesus, The Holy Spirit, His Word
  2. Being able to provide for my family
  3. caring for the ones I love
  4. Serving others; positively impacting the lives of others
  5. GROWTH
  6. Self reflection
  7. a good book
  8. staying active
  9. Overthinking

As I write, I will be hitting all of these things because they matter me and they are seriously always on my mind (refer to point #9).

ANYWAYS.. anyone who knows me knows that when it comes to sharing personal things, I am the listener not the sharer. Writing has always been the way for me to truly collect my thoughts in a way where they make some type sense (yes- I’m that girl who says she’s fine when she’s really not, but it’s only because I can’t find the words to describe what’s going on) . Though I prefer writing by hand, it’s the 21st century so I figure I would let technology take over my life too. (oh, btw I’m very sarcastic!)

This will be my safe haven, and I hope others can connect to the words I say and the gems I spit.

Dazzit for now y’all– I’m a total procrastinator but hopefully you’ll be hearing from me soon!

Toodle-loo, a bientot!

 

Leave a Reply

